top of page
  • Writer's pictureROCK IS DEAD

Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Announce 2021 Nominees

The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame have announced the 2021 nominees for this year's induction class.

Photo via @rockhall on Instagram

The list includes; Jay-Z, Foo Fighters, Carole King, Tina Turner, Mary J. Blige, Kate Bush, Devo, The Go-Go's, Iron Maiden, Chaka Khah, Fela Kuti, LL Cool J, New York Dolls, Rage Against the Machine, Todd Rundgren and Dionne Warwick.

The usually controversial list has seemed to please most fans this year by including a wide ranging and diverse list of artists from rock, pop and hip hop. Carole King and Tina Turner are both up for their second induction into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, this time as solo artists. Stevie Nicks is the only other woman to have been inducted twice. The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame stated:

"To be eligible for nomination, an individual artist or band must have released its first commercial recording at least 25 years prior to the year of nomination. Seven out of 16 of the Nominees are on the ballot for the first time, including Foo Fighters, The Go-Go’s, Iron Maiden, JAY-Z, Mary J. Blige, Fela Kuti, and Dionne Warwick. Chaka Khan was previously nominated both solo and with the band Rufus. If elected, Carole King and Tina Turner will become the second and third female artists inducted twice, following Stevie Nicks’ 2019 election. If Foo Fighters are inducted, Dave Grohl will also become a twice-inducted performer."

Fans can vote everyday for their favourite nominees but the fan vote has notoriously shown to have very little effect on the actual induction list that gets announced later this spring. With the total fan vote only equalling one actual member vote, the fan's choice usually doesn't have an effect on the induction list unless official Hall of Fame members vote the same way. Bands like Soundgarden, Dave Mathews Band and Pat Benatar have all performed well during the fan vote yet still get snubbed by the Hall of Fame's voting committee come induction time. Fans can access the Fan Vote here.

bottom of page